St. Vincent debuts new song “LA” in Tokyo: Watch

Photo by Amanda Koellner

Earlier this summer, St. Vincent announced her “Fear the Future Tour” and followed up with her first proper single since 2015, “New York”. On Saturday, the multi-hyphenate otherwise known as Annie Clark debuted a new song, “LA”, during her set at Tokyo’s Summer Sonic Festival.

(Read: The 50 Most Anticipated Albums of 2017)

“LA” is one of the new tracks from Clark’s upcoming fifth album detailed in a recent Guardian profile. It’s described as “an astonishing meta-epic” representative of “a fiercely avant garde musician’s reluctance to do anything as obvious as write about a break-up.” Clark sings, “I guess that’s just me, honey, I guess that’s how I’m built/ I try to write you a love song but it comes out in a melt.” Watch the fan-shot footage below.

The interview also characterizes the St. Vincent follow-up as “the same appealing, enigmatic, genre-spliced collision of ideas and influences that St. Vincent fans cherish, only this time with a sleeker, more accessible through-line that ought to further expand her listenership.” Some of the other tracks revealed include “Hang On Me”, “Smoking Section”, and “Pills”.

Speaking about her creative process, Clark explained, “I’ve always kept my writing close to the vest. And by that I mean I’m always gonna write about my life. Sometimes, in the past, I did that way more obliquely than now. But it’s almost like an involuntary reflex. I can’t help but be living and also taking notes on what’s going on, always trying to figure out how to put that into a song.”

Addressing the topic on her break-up with model/actress Cara Delevingne, Clark stated, “Dating Cara – was a big part of my life. I wouldn’t take it off-limits, just because my songs might get extra scrutiny. People would read into them what they would, and you know what? Whatever they thought they found there would be absolutely right. And at the same time it would be absolutely wrong.”

“A song that means something very specific to me, a song in which I might be obliquely or otherwise exploring some really dark things, is a song that another person might hear and go: ‘Wow, this one really puts a smile on my face,’” she added. “I’m thrilled by that. I’m thrilled that people might take my songs into their life and make whatever suits them out of it.”

While the album currently doesn’t have a title or release date, Clark said she’s in “deep nun mode” and “completely monastic” as she works toward its completion. Presumably, the record will be finished before she moves on to direct a female-led film adaptation of Oscar Wilde’s novel, The Picture of Dorian Gray.

Father John Misty pens eulogy for Chuck E. Cheese’s robot frontman

Father John Misty isn’t one to “eulogize over social media,” as he mentioned in a message on Facebook Friday. But the news of Chuck E. Cheese’s animatronic band breaking up compelled him to “humbly offer a few words in ” in the face of such “shock and sadness.”

CEC Entertainment Chief Executive Tom Leverton told CBS News this week of plans to revamp restaurants, a move that will include the disbanding of the robot bands.

Misty, a.k.a. Josh Tillman, recalled how he would celebrate his birthdays as a kid in Maryland at Chuck E. Cheese with friends from school and church.

“Having been a professional musician for a few years now, I can appreciate firsthand not only the strain of trying to sustain a flow of creativity for so long but the rigorous, pretty unexotic feat of physical endurance just getting through a few hundred shows a year, plus all the travel,” he wrote in a comical and overtly sentimental message on Friday.

“When I consider that this motherf–ker was playing up to 5 sets a night all over the country simultaneously am reminded that, yes, it can be done, and that just by getting on that stage every night and leaving everything up there, I am part of lineage, of a collective imagination that spans the generations,” he continued. “How he maintained that smile on his face, playing so consistently and with such little flash (even though I’m sure some nights he just wanted to stretch out and make it all about himself) is beyond me. Don’t forget: this man’s middle name was literally ‘Entertainment.’”

Misty called frontman Chuck an “interpreter” who “was never political.”

“He didn’t write much, outside of his seminal ‘Happy Birthday’ but neither did Frank f–king Sinatra. Like Sinatra, Chuck wasn’t ‘the best.’ But he had a style, and style cannot be taught; something we tend to forget in this era of manufactured pop stars. Max Martin would’ve had nothing to do with Cheese. He was a little thick around the waste, and certainly refused to change with protean fads in the culture.”

Read Misty’s full eulogy below.

Misty, who’s the kind of guy to dream-cast his own X-Men movie for no apparent reason, is currently on his world tour behind his Pure Comedy album.

Brand New’s new album Science Fiction is now available on streaming services

This week, Brand New surprise released their first album in eight years, Science Fiction. Initially available for purchase digitally, the full 12-track album is now available on streaming services, including Apple Music and Spotify. Listen below. . Physical copies of the album are expected to ship in October.

Science Fiction is Brand New’s first record since 2009’s Daisy.

Science Fiction Artwork:

dhcp azxuauztep Brand News new album Science Fiction is now available on streaming services

Science Fiction Tracklist:
01. Lit Me Up
02. Can’t Get It Out
03. Waste
04. Could Never Be Heaven
05. Same Logic/Teeth
06. 137
07. Out of Mana
08. In the Water
09. Desert
010. No Control
11. 451
12. Batter Up

Brand New will tour behind the record this fall. Find their full itinerary here.